The Savoy-Plaza Hotel was a towering, iconic hotel overlooking Central Park at Fifth Avenue and 59th Street in New York City, New York. It opened in 1927 and was demolished in 1965.
Harry S. Black, the owner of the nearby Plaza Hotel, bought the Savoy Hotel, built in 1890, and demolished it along with the adjacent buildings on the block to build a newer companion to the older establishment. The 33-story, 128 meter skyscraper hotel was designed by McKim, Mead & White, built at a cost of $30 million, and opened on October 1, 1927.
It was sold to Hilton Hotels in 1958 and they opened a Trader Vic’s in the hotel on April 14, 1958. They later renamed the hotel the Savoy Hilton. Hilton sold the hotel to Webb & Knapp, Inc. in May 1962, for $25 million. Webb & Knapp resold the hotel to British Commercial Property Investments of Toronto later that year. Hilton and the hotel’s owners agreed to end the chain’s management of the hotel in 1964, though the contract was set to continue through 1967. Western International Hotels assumed management on June 2, 1964, renaming the hotel The Savoy Plaza, without the original hyphen. The hotel’s planned demolition was announced on August 21, 1964.
The news of the demolition brought significant public outcry and protests, On December 16, 1964, it was announced that the hotel would be replaced by a 48-story tower, designed by Edward Durell Stone as the Eastern headquarters of General Motors. The hotel remained open through the duration of the 1964/1965 New York World’s Fair, finally closing in October 1965. It was demolished in late 1965 and early 1966 and replaced with the General Motors Building, completed in 1968.